Snow Day

A few weeks ago we were treated to something I fervently pray for every winter – a snow “event”.  My birthday is in late January, and I can’t tell you how many times it has snowed on or around my birthday, which I selfishly attribute to the fact that Jesus knows how much I love snow!  ; )  Well, Jesus was a bit late with my birthday present this year, buy hey, He’s a busy guy.  We were actually bracing for a significant ice event, which means widespread power outages, but thankfully all we got was 6 inches of snow and a light glaze of ice – all beauty, no beast.  I spent most of the day taking pictures, and judging by my Facebook feed, so did every other person in the area!  Here are some of my faves – enjoy!

A bachelor party in the Crepe Myrtles

A bachelor party in the Crepe Myrtles

Those are my kind of odds - five gents for every lady!

Those are my kind of odds – five gents for every lady!

A Carolina Wren on our new Crabapple

A Carolina Wren on our new Crabapple

I guess the bugs were in bed for the day, because the Eastern Bluebirds uncharacteristically hit the suet feeders that day.

I guess the bugs were in bed for the day, because the Eastern Bluebirds uncharacteristically hit the suet feeders that day.

A large plum tree, frosted by snow and ice.

A large plum tree, frosted by snow and ice.

After the initial several inches of snow, we got a light glazing of ice, followed by another dusting of snow.  Everything in the yard looked like it had been sugar-frosted!  The Dogwoods were especially beautiful.

After the initial several inches of snow, we got a light glazing of ice, followed by another dusting of snow. Everything in the yard looked like it had been sugar-frosted! The Dogwoods were especially beautiful.

Sigh.  I wish we had snow more often.  But I guess it's relative rarity makes the snow seem all the more special and enjoyable.

Sigh. I wish we had snow more often. But I guess its relative rarity makes the snow seem all the more special and enjoyable.

It's amazing how different the old homestead looks with a blanket of white

It’s amazing how different the old homestead looks with a blanket of white

I was really worried about that huge Magnolia with a major ice storm pending.  Thankfully all we got was a light glazing and no harm was done!

I was really worried about that huge Magnolia with a major ice storm pending. Thankfully all we got was a light glazing and no harm was done!

This is a "Snow Bunny" - a family tradition which I make EVERY time it snows.

This is a “Snow Bunny” – a family tradition which I make EVERY time it snows.

Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Comments

  • Anonymous  On March 2, 2014 at 9:02 AM

    Incredibly beautiful snow pics! The contrast of the snow/ice and the colorful birds is so picturesque….a real treasure.

    Like

Comment on this Post

