Blueberry Marmalade

Blueberry Marm 4

Here is the recipe for the second of three marms I made recently.  If you’ve read this blog much you know we grow Blueberries, so I am always looking for ways to use them.  As we (and by “we” I mean my husband, because picking Blueberries in NC summer heat and humidity is for chumps) harvest the berries I wash them, dry them on a large towel, place them in a single layer on a baking sheet and freeze them for 2-3 hours.  When they are frozen I pack them in quart freezer bags to have on hand for coffee cakes, waffles, pancakes – and marmalade!

IMG_3682

I am not a fan of the flavor of cooked blueberries on their own (my mum told me that as a baby, blueberry baby food was one of the few things she could get me to eat, so apparently I have OD’d on that flavor).  However,  the orange and lemon in this marmalade brighten the whole thing up into a sweet-tart scrumptious bit of yum!  And the chewy rinds and pineapple with the mostly whole berries give this marm a great texture.  As I stated before, I encourage you to use organic fruit and an Heirloom Navel if you can find it.  And if you are unfamiliar with any of the canning terms or procedures I mention below, please consult the Ball website, or get yourself a copy of their excellent Blue Book Guide to Preserving.

  • 1 organic Lemon
  • ½ Heirloom Navel Orange
  • ½ cup dried pineapple (the sugared dried fruit you would snack on, not the glaceed fruit meant for fruitcake!!!)
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 2 cups water
  • 4 cups blueberries, fresh or frozen

Wash and sterilize jars and lids (recipe makes about 5 half-pints).  Slice lemon and orange very thinly (a mandoline is a great help here), remove any seeds and dice into small bits – rind, pith and all.  Dice pineapple in same sized bits as the citrus.  In a large, deep-sided stainless steel pot (I use a 7 qt All Clad stockpot that I got on the cheap at Zappos) combine the lemon, orange, pineapple, sugar and water.

Blueberry Marm 1

Bring to a boil, stirring to dissolve sugar; gently boil until rinds are tender – 5-10 minutes.

Blueberry Marm 2

Add blueberries and return to a full rolling boil. Cook 5-10 minutes until mixture thickens.

Blueberry Marm 3

Test mixture for doneness by using the plate test or cooking the mixture to the gel point (which will vary, based on your elevation).  Skim off any foam, ladle marmalade into hot jars, seal and process in a boiling water bath for 15 minutes.  Turn heat off and allow jars to sit in hot water another 5 minutes before lifting out and cooling on the counter.  Enjoy!

Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Comment on this Post

