St Patrick’s Day Pistachio Cookies

St Patrick's Day Pistachio Cookies

St Patrick’s Day Pistachio Cookies

This is not one of my own recipes, but I had to share because they were too cute and too tasty!  The texture is chewy and somewhat cakey, and the coarse sugar adds a nice crunch.  I got the recipe from the King Arthur website, and you can click here to download it for yourself.  I only made a few changes to the recipe:

  1. I used 1 tsp. vanilla and ½ tsp. almond extract for flavoring.
  2. I used a #40 disher (OXO makes a great one that is perfect for making all kinds of cookies) so I only got 27 cookies.
  3. To shape and decorate these cookies, I put one level scoop into my hand, dropped the ball (rounded side down) into a bowl of green & white coarse sugar, lifted the ball out and placed it sugar side up on a silpat lined baking sheet.  Then I slightly flattened the balls with the smooth side of an OXO meat mallet.
  4. Because my cookies were larger than the size stated in the recipe, they took a few minutes longer to bake.
You need to slightly flatten the dough balls because they don't spread much.

You need to slightly flatten the dough balls because they don’t spread much.

If you are a fan of pistachio or almond flavoring or just love a chewy sugar cookie, you will love these!  Enjoy!

Waiting for plating...

Waiting for plating…

All ready for Small Group!

All ready for Small Group!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comment on this Post

